In June 1945, community members organized a Sunday school in what was once, Parkview School. This was as there was no church in the South East part of the city to accommodate the 66 children looking to attend.
The following year, Miss Elinor Harwood began to run church services from the school and the St Luke’s congregation was formed.
In December of 1946, a building on Devine Street was dedicated to St Luke’s United Church – the first United Church to be built in Sarnia following the union in 1925.
At this time, the congregation was very small, only 30 people and so it was combined with Bluewater to form what is now Dunlop United Church.
By 1951, plans were underway for St Luke’s to receive it’s own building. By 1955, this had become a reality and St Luke’s separated from Dunlop United, taking residence at the existing building here on Indian Road.
In 1963, a new building project begun at this site and the Manse was constructed at 16 Lorne Crescent. By 1966, the Christian Education wing and renovations to the Sanctuary were completed.
St Luke’s has continued to experience a rich history of change. An expansive fire in the basement further altered the face of the building. Most recently, St Luke’s United Church has undergone renovations in order to accommodate the Hub – A collaborative project involving 21 community partners dedicated to resolving a service gap for youth in the Sarnia community.